The keys were left carelessly in the ignition 

How could you have been so forgetful

I crept through the bushes and got in the truck no stick shift this time

Suddenly the curtains flew open…had you seen me? 
Ignition, keys in. 

Sober this time conscious of our decision 
Down the street my buddy hops in passenger seat 

Eagerly we set down the freeway 

And a single state trooper spots us 

Taking off at 100 miles per hour 

Hoodie up obscuring my face 
Initially this seemed like a good idea 

Sirens blare in the background 

Now the cop cars multiply 

“Tell me now if you want to get out of this or put your seatbelt on if you want to stay.” 

Inside the truck a single click 

Thousands of cars clear the way for the maniac 
Ominous deafening silence 

Roadside kill 
Still I have an idea 

Or I hope I do 

Miles pass by 

Every couple seconds another cop joins

Train, a single narrow continuity 

How even then the math and the angles I needed to contemplate 

In order to get around the train and leave the state trooper in the dust 

Not a good idea 

Gage the distance between us 
Lines of cop cars a funeral procession 

Instantaneously, a spike strip 

Kindred looks at me 

Even then hope remanant in his eyes 
It spread across the windshield like a spider web 

Time stopped 

